Age of Myth

Age of Myth Summary

One of fantasy’s finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Michael J. Sullivan’s trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership and comparisons to fantasy masters Brandon Sanderson, Scott Lynch, and J.R.R. Tolkien himself. Now Age of Myth inaugurates an original five-book series.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between humans and those they thought were gods changes forever.

Now only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer; Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom; and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over. The time of rebellion has begun.

Magic, fantasy, and mythology collide in Michael J. Sullivan’s Legends of the First Empire series:
AGE OF MYTH • AGE OF SWORDS • AGE OF WAR



Book Reviews

Carter Cash TYPD

The Jacket Misidentifies the Main Character4 star

Enjoyed very much. The type of read where you pick up the book each time with a great anticipation of what might come next. My only ‘complaint’ would be that the main character, The God Killer, is overshadowed by several other characters . . . and I continued to ask myself when he would become a major character in the plot. But the storyline kept me interested and I suspect The God Killer will soon shine in the coming books.45

User192048

Favorite!5 star

Fantastic read, pulls and drags you deep into a mystical world where the extent of the magic has yet to be experienced!55

JJ09877890

Beginning of an Epic5 star

Fans of Kingkiller, Wheel of Time, or Malazan, look no further. Finished in three days... buying the next book now.55

Nickname!.!

Amazing!!5 star

I have been searching for a good book for so long. It’s really hard for me to find a good book that I can get lost in. Age of Myth however changed that! I was so immersed in this story and looked forward to my nightly reading sessions. If you love fantasy novels this is a must read! I can’t wait to continue the series.55

ShootForTheEdit

I tried. I really tried. But it’s so BORING.2 star

***Re-Review*** I’m standing by my original review of 2 stars. Unfortunately, not even GraphicAudio was able to save this drag of a book. I REALLY wanted to like this book, and I honestly gave it every chance possible. Literally. I tried reading it, I tried listening to the audiobook, and after both of those bored me to the point of DNF, I gave it one final try with the GraphicAudio version. And while I did finally finish it, it remained an uneventful disappointment. It had an interesting final 5%, but it wasn’t enough to make up for the 95% struggle it took to get there. As I stated in my original review, you can have all the world building and character development you want, but at some point SOMETHING needs to happen. Seeing how slow this book is, and knowing that it’s going to be a 5 book series, doesn’t boost my confidence that this entire story isn’t going to be dragged out to an extreme. ***Original Review*** DNF. Got about half way through the book (and given how long the book is, that’s about the length of a normal book) and realized how boring it was. I was forcing myself on in the hopes that something exciting would happen, but there seemed to be no hint of that anytime soon. And knowing that this is going to be a 5 book series, I’m pretty sure that things are going to be very dragged out. Age of Myth follows the annoying stereotype of many epic fantasy books, in that world building and character development take precedence over story. I understand that these things are important, but at some point, SOMETHING needs to happen. When a novel becomes all exposition and no substance, it’s no longer a novel, it’s just Fictional Non-Fiction (and yes, I just made that up).25

JDSquires

Fantastic5 star

Any fans of epic high fantasy should pick this up. A well developed world with great characters and Easter eggs for those familiar with Sullivan’s Riyria series55

Lkrieg

Lots of interesting characters4 star

This book was slow to start but once the action started it kept on building. There are a lot of interesting characters to meet in this story and it's fun to see how they all tie together. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.45

Hobbs.

LOVED IT!5 star

Great story, very interesting, I was confused so much and amazed when I finally understood some things. This book made me feel like a kid again listening to a fantastic story.55

Isisunit

DNF'd at the 3/4 Mark1 star

I would like to thank Del Rey & NetGalley for a copy of this e-ARC to review. Though I received this ebook for free, that has no impact upon the honesty of my review. Goodreads Teaser: "What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch. Michael J. Sullivan's trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership. Now, Sullivan's stunning hardcover debut, Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy's finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground. Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun." Unfortunately I found myself struggling so much with this book that at about 3/4 of the way through I finally stopped trying. I almost never mark a book as Did Not Finish (DNF), but in this case after trying numerous times I simply thought it best if I stopped torturing myself. I was unable to connect with any of the characters, and thus their plight held no interest for me. I certainly hope others fared better than I with this book.15

Paimon sigh

Interesting story4 star

Good book with an interesting story line and a lot of potential, the only thing that was disappointing was seeing the main character "the god killer" get overshadowed by almost everyone else45



Other Books by Michael J. Sullivan

Theft of Swords

$4.99

Theft of Swords
4.5     595
Rise of Empire

$9.99

Rise of Empire
4.5     421
Heir of Novron

$9.99

Heir of Novron
4.5     553


   Users Online