Mountain and Ash

Mountain and Ash Summary

EnjoyMountain and Ash, book two inEna of Ilbrea, a new epic fantasy series by Young Adult author Megan O'Russell.
The Guilds are not her only enemy.
Ena has pledged herself to the Black Bloods’ cause, spending months saving children from the grips of the Sorcerers Guild. But freedom demands a steeper price.
Following her heart has led Ena through danger and to a sanctuary she never dreamt existed. Surrounded by magic, a future free of blood and pain seem within her grasp. But hope and love have never been a part of her story.
As danger haunts her home, a powerful force demands her aid in murder. Refusing will endanger everyone she cares for―taking an innocent life is more than her soul can bear.
When death comes for Ena, will she lose her heart or her life?
***
Ena of Ilbrea is a YA epic fantasy complete with a swoon-worthy paranormal romance. The four-book (and a novella) series follows Ena Ryeland―a powerful young woman made an orphan by the all-powerful, oppressive Guilds―as she transitions from illegal healer to deadly assassin.
This series features sibling rivalry, lgbtq+ characters, sorcery, elemental magic, class differences, and soul-rending love.
***
Mountain and Ash is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Elise Kova, Kay L Moody, Sarah M. Cradit, W. J. May, Laini Taylor, Sara C. Roethle, Bridget E. Baker, and Jennifer Anne Davis.



Book Reviews

katt4pitt

I like the survival theme4 star

The story also hold my attention as it builds each character.45

ByFelicia

Great twist to a world of magic5 star

Have I mentioned how much I absolutely love Finn? So far he’s my favorite side character. I love his relationship with Ena. They’re basically best friends at this point and I am here for it! Ena seems to have pulled herself more together this round as she seems to have found a place for herself among the Black Bloods. More like a purpose. I found myself sharing her irritation and frustration with the kid gloves that the everyone seemed to use around her. Liam is kind of irritating me with his dismissive attitude. So much angst. Communication goes a long way my guy. I mean, I love you but I don’t like you right now. The mystery surrounding Emmet is still that. A mystery. He’s made a name for the himself but no one really knows why. So I’m very curious about that. I feel like he’s hiding something from Ena and I’m anxious to find out what/if it is. This book seems to lag a little bit. But it definitely picks up the further you get into it. The smuggling of the sorci children kept me on edge with anticipation. I loved all the kids but I gotta admit that Evie and Dorran were close favorites. Evie is a smart and strong kid for her age but when you live at the mercy of the Guilds you have to be. Overall, I loved the book. The world building in the series just keeps getting better. Although it didn’t have a ton of action, it made up for it with the banter between Ena and Finn. Looking forward to the next one!55



Other Books by Megan O'Russell

Girl of Glass

Free

Girl of Glass
4.5     51
Ember and Stone

Free

Ember and Stone
4     111
The Tethering

$4.99

The Tethering
4     245
Inker and Crown

$4.99

Inker and Crown
4     104


   Users Online