The Summons

The Summons Summary

«Alfred Edward Woodley Mason (1865-1948) was an English author and politician, famous mostly for his novel The Four Feathers (1902), adapted for several films. An alumni of Trinity College, Oxford, he published his first novel A Romance of Wastdale in 1895. During his literary career Mason wrote over twenty books, including a series featuring his well-known character – French detective, Inspector Hanaud, and a short story The Conjurer, contributed to The Queen's Book of the Red Cross. He died in 1948, working on his non-fiction book about Admiral Robert Blake.

First published in 1920, Mason's book The Summons tells the story of Captain Harry Lutrell. Grown fat, Lutrell lives a miserable life full of regrets, fears and boredom, when appears an excellent opportunity to start a new life – the Olympic Games in Cairo! But is Lutrell ready to leave England? For the woman he is very attached to stays there...

A classic example of Mason's simply excellent style, the book is a real treasure! Do you want to be carried away by the fascinating events of The Summons? Then download the book and enjoy the reading!»

Be the first Reviewer for this book

Other Books by A. E. W. Mason

   Users Online