Murder at the Dolphin Hotel

Murder at the Dolphin Hotel Summary

A room with a view… to murder.

June 1933. Kitty Underhay is a modern, independent woman from the top of her shingle bob to the tip of her t-strap heels. She prides herself on the reputation of her family’s ancient hotel on the blustery English coast. But then a body is found, rooms are ransacked and rumours begin to circulate that someone is on the hunt for a valuable stolen ruby – a ruby that Kitty’s mother may have possessed when she herself went missing during the Great War. Before she can do more than flick a duster, Kitty finds herself in the midst of a murder investigation.

When the local police inspector shows no signs of solving the shocking crimes plaguing the hotel, Kitty steps briskly into the breach. Together with ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, her new hotel security officer, she is determined to decipher this mystery and preserve not only the name of her hotel, but also the lives of her guests. Could there be a cold-blooded killer under her own roof? And what connects the missing jewel to the mystery from Kitty’s own past?

A classic page-turning murder mystery! Fans of Agatha Christie, Elizabeth Edmondson and T.E. Kinsey will love this unputdownable whodunnit.

Readers love Murder at the Dolphin Hotel!

Endearing, engaging characters; and a fast-moving plot line filled with unexpected twists and turnsThis is a whodunit that you will not want to put down till it's done!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘If you like your crime novels cosy with a touch of romance this is the book for you.’ Faith Martin

I loved this cosy mystery. There were many twists and turns and I couldn’t wait to find out the identity of the perpetrator behind the crimes. I look forward to reading more in this series.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Gripping from the very first page. It was quite difficult to put the book down… Very deserving of 5 stars and more.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

I read it as fast as I could… I was engrossed in the plot and wanted to know what was going to happen. I loved the fleshed out and likeable characters… The mystery is solid, full of twists and turns, and the solution came as a surprise.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘The pace was fast, my interest nonstop and there was plenty of action – an excellent whodunit that I thoroughly enjoyed and recommend highly.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This is a lovely read! I could visualise the hotel so well, the town, the hustle and bustle of life in the 1930's… I thoroughly enjoyed the storytelling, the little clues, the way the mysteries developed. It definitely got the little grey cells working!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘A beautifully written cosy mystery whodunnit in the vein of Agatha Christie and Josephine Tey. Charming, atmospheric and thoroughly entertaining.’ Goodreads reviewer

I couldn’t put this book down… a a very fun read that kept me engaged the entire way through.’ India Reads

‘This isn’t a book you want to put off, I kept coming back and picking it right back up to continue reading!’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Helena Dixon does a superb job of hooking the reader from the very beginning and I will anxiously await the next book in the Miss Underhay mystery series!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A great start to a fun series! I loved the location, the main character, and the mystery!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I read the book in one go. I guess it's quite clear that the story is captivating. The writing style is very fluent and I really liked Miss Underhay. She is not only independent, but clever too.’ Goodreads reviewer



Book Reviews

Clean romancer

Murder at the Dolphin Hotel5 star

Was nice to read a period piece w/o wincing at the stupid things their heroines do. Clear headed and fun characters.55

Anne42Jane

Charming Beginning5 star

This was a great historical mystery. The author did a good job with the setting. I also enjoyed the two main characters, Kitty and Matthew. They were interesting separately and I liked the chemistry they had together. The mystery itself was intriguing and I was captivated till the end. I am hoping to continue on in the series.55

vilcapam

Murder at the Dolphin Hotel4 star

An enjoyable mystery with interesting characters.45

Squidgymom

Love this cozy mystery!5 star

This is the first I’ve read of the Kitty Underhay series, and I fell in love with Kitty and Matt. A lot of these types of books are usually silly, and I guess the murderer early on. This one kept me guessing to the end. I look forward to seeing how Kitty and Matt’s relationship progresses. They are perfect for each other.55

Find one for me

Good reading5 star

Good reading55

MaryAnnMac

Enjoyable cozy mystery4 star

Loved the characters. Very nice cozy read.45

WTD rating

Dolphin Hotel5 star

Fascinating. Could not put it down!55

midlotam

Enjoyable4 star

Matt and Kitty are likable, and it is intriguing to get a glimpse into their back stories. The book is a bit too long, with too many characters, murders, and plot twists. I do wish that authors and proofreaders would learn the difference between mantle and mantel, disinterested and uninterested… At each opportunity after reading this first volume in the series, I tried repeatedly to see if I could order more, but pressing on “order here” did nothing.45

Riley Esco

Brought me back to books5 star

One book I didn’t want to stop reading. I NEEDED to know what happened next. Loved every page and every character!55

Kien Jan

Exciting5 star

It was a page turner!!!55





   Users Online