ROMeANTICALLY CHALLENGED

ROMeANTICALLY CHALLENGED Summary

Amazon Best Romance of the Month 
Publishers Marketplace BuzzBooks: ROMANCE 2020-2021 pick
Fresh Fiction Fresh Pick

“Fun, flirty, and fresh!”
—Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author

 
A witty, sexy, and charming story from the New York Timesbestselling author of the St. Helena Vineyard series that fans of Emily Henry, Jen DeLuca, and Kate Clayborn will adore.
 
Growing up the lone Asian in a community of WASPs, Annie has always felt out of place.  Her solution?  Start a family of her own. Not easy when every man she’s dated, including her ex-fiancé, finds “his person” right after breaking up with Annie. Even worse than canceling the wedding eight weeks beforehand?  Learning the “other woman” plans to walk down the aisle wearing her wedding gown. New plan—find a fresh, man-free start. Too bad her exit strategy unexpectedly lands her working at a hospital in Rome, Rhode Island, rather than Rome, Italy, and sharing a cabin with a big, brooding, and annoyingly hot male roommate.
 
Home on medical leave after covering a literally explosive story in China, investigative photojournalist Emmitt embarks on his most important assignment—cementing his place in his daughter’s life. Three men and a baby might work in the movies, but with a stepdad and devoted uncle competing for Paisley’s attention, Emmitt has lost his place at the family table. Then there’s the adorably sexy squatter in his cabin, who poses another problem, one he’d very much like to solve up close and personal. But he can’t win—Annie has sworn off men, Paisley’s gone boy crazy, and Emmitt’s estranged father reappears with a secret that changes everything.
 
Annie and Emmitt are about to discover love comes in many forms, and sometimes the best families are the ones we make.

“Phenomenal…I highly recommend picking up a copy if this novel, it will have you crying, laughing and yelling but most of all you will end with a warm happy feeling that comes from reading a first class novel.”
—Harlequin Junkie, Recommended Read

 
“I cannot fully express how in awe I am with Marina Adair’s ability to create such complex and multi-faceted characters. “
—The Lit Buzz


“Marina Adair is a breath of fresh air…Don't miss a word from this magnificent author!”Darynda Jones, New York Times bestselling author
 
“Fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery will enjoy the modern family dynamic and small-town atmosphere.”
—Booklist

 
“An adorable, fun new contemporary romance series. Delightful.”
Library Journal

“A hilarious romantic comedy”
—Bookpage

 
“A delight…entertaining, endearing, and realistic.”
—Frolic

 
"A true gem."
—Fresh Fiction



Book Reviews

escamillalbi

Wow!5 star

I could relate tontheain character's feelings of being out of place. The author touched on this with great perception and sensitivity. The story was wonderful and the characters realistic. What a wonderful love story.55

PalatableDinner

RomeAntically Challenged4 star

I liked how this book explored transracial identity and unlearning toxic masculine behaviors. Research is evident in the writing and the author takes the time needed to really develop characters that readers can empathize with. Beckett’s Grumpy Cat shirt is a mood and I need it. However, I did notice a few important typos and the text images weren’t formatted with dark mode in mind, despite it being a common feature of eBook apps. I wish Annie wasn’t attracted to Emmitt until after he stopped being toxic so it’d feel more authentic and less cliche. Also, Annie went to med school and understands relational power dynamics and the importance of communication, but for some reason thought simply going to a pot luck would magically fill the void within, not understanding that reclaiming her cultural heritage is a huge learning endeavor, and wasn’t already learning Vietnamese despite wanting to in this age of internet and smartphones. It is also worth noting that the whole “Chinese isn’t a language” is misleading, and a lot more complicated. Whether you consider it a language or not depends on how you define or differentiate language and dialect when there is no hard and fast definition, which would entail at least a surface level understanding of differences and similarities between languages/dialects and their written language, which would likely not be considered “common knowledge” and thus justify ignorance. I.e. Cantonese and Mandarin are considered by some to be dialects because they share a written language, Chinese, whereas others consider them separate languages because they’re phonetically very different, and still others who believe Chinese isn’t a language because it isn’t spoken, completely ignoring the existence of sign language. The list goes on and ultimately boils down to semantics. It is also my experience that asking if someone speaks Chinese isn’t weird, and whether they’re referring to Mandarin, Cantonese, either or, Toisanese etc is determined by context. I’ve been asked most if I “speak Chinese” by Chinese, often but not always because English is their second language, and I say all this as a product of Chinese diaspora who also struggled with their cultural identity and has been misidentified more than once, like Annie. Evidently enough this whole thing is highly variable from person to person and place to place. The stereotyping though was definitely ignorance.45

sherby1

Fun and heartwarming read!5 star

Thoroughly enjoyed reading the story of Ahn and Emmitt. Unexpectedly shed a few tears along the way.55

Melzie61

I Thoroughly Enjoyed!4 star

I found the story so well written that I think I finished the book in 4 days. I just kept wanting to keep reading it. You just got to know the characters like family and couldn’t wait to see what happened next. Thank you!45

Tiggy/Cookie

Romentically Challenged4 star

First time reading this author and I went by the ratings. Glad I did, because I enjoyed reading about all the characters in this book, would have really enjoyed for the book not to have ended.45

Shaddie31

Loved It5 star

I loved this book, the banter between characters and the raw emotions they feel. I couldn’t put this down! Cannot wait to read book number 2!55

Fantasie Lace

The title intrigued me and didn’t disappoint5 star

This story was the perfect balance of romance and drama. It kept me interested, crying and at some point... turned on! Love it55

rahravan

Good s as and very best👍👍👍5 star

Good55

ReadingOverTV2

Romeantically Challenged by Marina Adair5 star

Romeantically Challenged by Marina Adair A Contemporary romance with so much heart. Finding “their person” is such a romantic concept. This novel filled me with joy. Ok, some tears and frustration as the story progressed but I tend to read slower the more I like a story. I really wanted to just stop at 80% and revel in the gooey feelings. But, of course, conflicts still needed to be resolved and men have to freak about something. It was so worth reading to the end. Absolutely loved this book and couple. Implied sentimentality. It melted my heart. “Right now he needed someone to listen, so she took his hand, which was like holding melting ice, and without hesitation, his fingers laced with hers.” I received a copy of this book from NetGalley. I also purchased a copy to share.55

Agent$$$$

Make Shift Family5 star

Where to start...Marina Adair is a MASTER with combing words and emotions! You’re laughing one minute with Annie and Emmitt’s banter, then totally crushed because Emmitt is sooo lost. The despair is palatable. Like Annie, he doesn’t feel as though he belongs in his own family. He is loved, but feels as though he’s on the outside looking in. Annie, having been adopted at birth, also KNEW she was loved—although not always supported by her parents. She just didn’t know how and where she fit in. She was Vietnamese raised by white parents. When she was around other Vietnamese, she was treated as though she didn’t belong. She spoke, knew very little of her native language or dishes and was considered too Americanized. But she didn’t quite fit in with other American girls either. Annie was also unlucky in love. She always ended up choosing the guys who found their “soulmates” immediately after or while she was dating them. She longed for a feeling of belonging and only wanted someone to love the real her—without her changing who she was. So, Annie accepts a position to work in a hospital in Rome—thinking it’s Rome, Italy. Its’ not! But what she finds there may be all she ever dreamed of and more... Emmitt, an investigative photojournalist, was the “fun, cool dad”. He was always leaving for the next “big” story, until he was almost killed while on assignment. Forced to take time off, Emmitt returns to his hometown of Rome, Rhode Island. There he finds, who he believes is a squatter, a woman living in his home. Come to find out, his family rented out his home without his knowledge. Emmitt doesn’t have the heart to evict Annie, so he decides to make her life miserable in hopes that she’ll willingly leave. The more Emmitt gets to know Annie, the more fascinated he is with her. Sure, he’d like to sleep with her, but he finds he truly enjoys her company. Loved, loved, loved this story! Very realistic and relatable. Emotions were all over the place. I’m a nurse and loved how the charge nurse stood up for Annie, then accepted her into her little group while still giving her a hard time. Emmitt and Chloe’s banter, Emmitt placing the recliner in front of her bedroom door...hilarious! I loved and hated Paisley’s surly attitude—very much in line with a true teenager who’s suffered great loss. The Three Men and a Baby (teenager) parallel was seen throughout the story. The “daily” dads were pretty tough on Emmitt, but they were also scared of losing Paisley. I also enjoyed reading Annie’s perspective on adoption as my nephews were adopted from birth. Highly enjoyable story! I read a gifted copy and all opinions stated are my own.55



Other Books by Marina Adair



   Users Online